Good communication is always in fashion.

The term “love languages” comes from the book, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, published in 1992 by Dr. Gary Chapman. 

In it, Chapman explains the ways we communicate love to our partners in five different ways: physical touch, words of affirmation, receiving gifts, acts of services and quality time. Understanding the importance of how to speak to your partner’s love language can help strengthen your relationship and keep the spark alive.

We explore these languages with style perfect for bridesmaids, groomsmen, wedding guests or even date night.

Physical Touch

Intimacy, holding hands, kissing and hugs demonstrate your bond to your partner, when they consent to it.

Words of Affirmation

Encouraging texts, long-distanced phone calls, and a whispered, “I love you,” in a crowded room are reassuring and welcome. Put into words how you feel so they can really hear you.

Receiving Gifts

Small gestures can go a long way. Bring them flowers for no reason or surprise them with those earrings they’ve been eyeing. As they say, it’s truly the thought that counts.

Acts of Service

Show your partner you’re thinking of them by bringing a cup of coffee without them asking, or offering your coat when you know they’re cold. Do the dishes or fold their laundry when they have a bad day and need you to lift them up.

Quality Time

Date night is a must for every couple. If quality time is your partner’s love language, then disconnect from your phones, get dressed up and go for a night on the town together.

Photography by Rob & Wynter
On location at The Grand Bohemian Hotel, Mountain Brook
Hair & Makeup by Melissa Moore Bogardus & Sydney Anderson

See more Alabama Weddings fashion inspiration here.

Pin It